October Wrap Up

27171677

2♥5

I found this novel quite forgettable. As I am checking back my October reads, I couldn’t recollect the story. The alcohol abuse, messed up teen trope was overused. It’s a shame, the writing was engaging but the plot was a sham; the characters were relatable to some extent but I didn’t find myself rooting for any of them.

It felt unfinished, and to be honest, all these issues seemed like a prop to carry on the romance tripe. I’ve read better. I rather pick up Jennifer Echols any day.

Add to Bookshelf

15772759

3♥5

I am not a great fan of historical fiction.  This bunch of short stories and sketches changed that; it was steeped in cultural references and gave a close look at the brutal realities of the partition. Some of these stories were visceral shocking and at times gruesome. Wish I could read the original language, though. The translated work although good, could do with some finesse. A must-read for an introduction to the great Manto.

Add to Bookshelf

10908853♥5

This is my first time reading a wordless graphic novel. This one was short and absolutely engaging. The artistry, the use of shadows and highlights were used brilliance to capture the imagination. The unwritten story was haunting  and spooky. As I was reading (is that the right word?) I had a distinct feeling of falling into a rabbit hole. Something akin to the novel.

Add to Bookshelf
Currently Reading

Cut To The Bone          Who Killed Kurt Cobain?: The Story of Boddah



click on images to add to TBR

@ThisFishReads2016 NetGalley Challenge

my read shelf:

This fish likes to read's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)

—Take care, happy reading!—


“Books fall open, you fall in. When you climb out again, you’re a bit larger than you used to be.” – Gregory Maguire  

                                                           

 
We need to talk

