Saturday Snippets: ARC DNF

Over past weeks, I managed to sign up on Net Galley to hoard more books into my collection and get a cracking start on some reviews. I requested two books: Riverside, Invasion of Heaven. I gave both books a fair chance to wow me. That didn’t happen.

Reason For Requesting Them

  • Invasion of Heaven: Loved the blurb, it suggested a very intricate plot driven historic thriller fiction akin to The Da Vinci Code.
  • Riverside: I was totally vain, the cover was gorgeous.

 

The Invasion of Heaven (The Newirth Mythology #1)The Invasion of Heaven by Michael B. Koep
Publisher: Will Dreamly Arts
Published On: August 12th 2013
My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Source: Net Galley

This book is written well, I liked how the author presented the ideas, stringed the words together to form beautiful prose. I reached 33% of the novel and the story was still building up. All that promises of great plot, mystery/ mythology mix was turning out to be a slow read.

The concept that this novel wanted to portray has to have a certain pace, the genre demands it. Anything more or less, ruins the reading experience.

I found the novel built-up stretched out and slow, eventually I lost my interest in what it was meaning to portray. I was hoping for a really fun fast-paced thrilling read, it didn’t turn out to be so. But I do hope to pick it up for leisure reading in future, only because of the intriguing plot.


 

RiversideRiverside by Brett Burlison
Publisher: Barton Creek Press
Published Date: January 4th 2016
My rating: 1 of 5 stars
Source: Net Galley

It promised to be a love story with lot of complications. The pace was not the problem here. It was decently paced, and quite an easy read.

It’s just that I reached 49% into it and realised how dense the plot was. The lead character and his girlfriend claimed to be soul-mates and the chemistry was evidently lacking, except for the few graphic scenes – which intercepted the story and didn’t really manage to add flavour to the plot.

The girlfriend- Katie- I liked that she was smart and feisty. The guy, Bobby although was dull and seemed to be just going with the flow. I didn’t like him enough, he being the narrator kept harping the same tune of loving Katie etc. There was nothing more to add, almost into half of the story and still hadn’t learnt much about any of them. The story was emotionally dense.

Some parts were repetitive, the characters half-formed. The first half of the book didn’t manage to hook me enough with the characters or the plot. I didn’t feel involved or convinced of where this was going. Or even if I wanted to be a part of it.

My opinion though seemed unpopular as I checked the Net Galley and Goodreads reviews, both books were quite the favoured books. But I am sticking to my reasons.

Even though I hate to leave a book unfinished, I am getting over it to maintain my sanity and save some time and heartache over reading not so great books.

2466949_1.jpg

Any books that you have read, that was well-liked but didn’t manage to win your heart?

my read shelf:
This fish likes to read's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)

—Take care, happy reading!—

 


“Books fall open, you fall in. When you climb out again, you’re a bit larger than you used to be.” – Gregory Maguire  

                                                           

 

3 comments

We need to talk

