Book Review: We Were Liars

We Were Liars –  E. Lockhart

2.5 ♥ 5

16143347


Blurb: We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart. 


“We are Sinclairs. Beautiful. Privileged. Damaged. Liar. We live, least in the summertime, on a private island off the coast of Massachusetts. Perhaps that is all you need to know.”

This was probably the most popular books of last year after Goldfinch. It featured in 8/10 booklists I came across. Obviously I was intrigued.

After finishing the book , all I could think was I don’t know if I liked it or disliked it. I am neutral on this one, which almost never happens.

I didn’t feel enough for the characters. They were not fleshed out enough, I didn’t know who they really are. There is a moment in the book where Gat says “you don’t really know me” All I could think was that’s true for the narrator as well. She was distant and as a reader it doesn’t really get you into reading or liking this book.

“I suffer migraines. I do not suffer fools.”

This plot had potential but the writer didn’t venture out. Yes it would have been hefty book with such rich characters if the author had gone more into it. The island as a premise too, felt closed off.

I felt like I was reading the synopsis throughout.It was surface level. Plus the made up stories after every other chapter, was a smart idea to give a hint of what the narrator was feeling. But I found it annoying and distracting.

All through the book I felt the narrator was only observing things not actually in the moments even in the places where she was having conversations with “the liars”. I wish the characters were well developed, wish that the author had given a chance to discover them instead of telling us who they are.

The twist at the end was a surprise!

I think that was the only reason the book was half as good. Somehow I feel the author paid more attention to the end , the twist than the moments leading to it. Because in the end the writing is good. The last couple of chapters are shocking and more engaging that the entire book.

I was hoping for that wow factor since I had heard about this book a lot.But I didn’t feel wowed. The idea behind the book is good, a good book pitch even but if it was more developed it would have been a brilliant one.

I guess this book is a  good read for a teen/YA crowd, which is exactly the audience for this genre. As for others… you have got to figure out whether you want to get your hands on this one.

my read shelf:
This fish likes to read's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)

—Take care, happy reading!—

“Books fall open, you fall in.When you climb out again,you’re a bit larger than you used to be.” – Gregory Maguire  

                                                                          


Related reads:

Socially Awkward Bookworm

3 comments

We need to talk

